Boudicca v.s Pussy Riot

Developing this project proved to be very tricky, while I liked the concept and the two main subjects that I was basing the project on, I really  struggled to get any traction in my ideas and struggled to keep focus on anything that I felt I could build into a finished piece; I spent much of the project not doing much and throwing around dead-end ideas. this was quite disheartening and it didn’t take long for me to become disinterested and completely loose my focus. Ultimately I think that I didn’t like this project because I felt far too direction-less for the majority of the project and I felt like I’d made the wrong choice at the very beginning in choosing the wrong brief to tackle from the start. But hindsight can be a real pain and sometimes you just have to roll with the punches.
From the beginning I’d not truly known what direction to head in, and had ended up  meandering around quite a lot through out the project. This produced a mixture of work that I both liked and felt didn’t really add anything to my project, I found myself producing work for works sake just so that it looked like I’d done more work that I’d actually done.

Once I’d finally gotten my act together and finally began to identify an idea and a concept that I’d like to expand on and explore. I began to play around with the idea of telling the story of this introduction without the use of people in the narrative, I felt like my focus on the human form and the idea of human character was holding me back and forcing me to focus on the human aspect more than the actual idea and the project itself. So instead I decided to focus on the idea of inanimate objects and the symbolism used in the concept of modern feminism. I began to look at symbols of feminism and how they can characterise feminist ideas and themes. One of the most obivious symbols of feminism being the modern bra, as both a symbol of oppression and outspoken femininity. Using one of my own old bras, I looked at how powerful this image could be, and played with the idea using this powerful association as a form of character.

I also looked at objects that could be used to represent Boudicca, namely I wanted it to be a historical reference, in order to make it as accurate as possible; as I’d done a fair amount of research into Boudicca as a person and as a figure in history, but found very little genuine evidence of her appearance and of her character outside of her revenge fuelled attack on the Romans. However, I did find a historical reference to her in the form of a coin that was issued in 61ad. that featured a likeness of her profile on one side and a Celtic horse on the other. This became the symbol that I chose to represent Boudicca’s character in my work, because I felt it was the most accurate depiction of her that I had been able to find, other depictions all having being rough estimations of what she might have looked like, based on historical descriptions and sensationalised depictions of Celtic women worriers that would not have looked out of place in a video game context.

 

The final concept for this project was then inspired by this concept of depicting Boudicca as an inanimate object. Placing her character in the context of a modern feminists space and mindset then became a much easier task; as a coin is much easier to place into a situation that an actual person is.
What arose from this was the idea of seeing this coin version of Boudicca exploring the world of a feminist, the easiest and most condensed depiction of this world being that of a bedroom. A place which we often personalised to a much greater degree than any other personal space. This therefore gave me a lot of scope to insert the feminist images that I’d been contemplating in a context where their mere presents might speak for them.
The narrative that I decided on revolved around the concept of Boudicca, represented by the historical depiction of the coin, exploring this feminist space and being introduced to the feminist way of thinking and their many modern forms of protest through both these symbols and the story of Pussy Riot, as shown in ‘A Punk Prayer’.

While I’m quite happy with the outcome of this project, for the most part, it is not completely finished, as I ran out of time. Had I had more time to devote to it I might have developed it into an animation or possibly continued the story to show more of the reaction of Boudicca. But unfortunately other commitments got in the way of doing this and I feel like, had I continued this project, it would not have been an effective use of my time, as animation is something I’ve never done before, and would require a lot of work to not only build up to, but to also produce a final piece as well.

Leave a Reply

