Developing Plans

I decided pretty early into my project that I wanted to make my own book for the project, partly because at first I had wanted to do a concertina style book, but have to rule this out purely because I couldn’t find a concertina book large enough to do my project in. However, after creating a practice draft in a small rectangular sketch book, I decided that that style of book was much easier to work with and gave me a bit more freedom than a concertina book would, as well as making the book itself more solid and less fragile.
Having done my research into Josephine life and becoming familiar with her timeline, I decided that I’d like to cover the period of her life before Napoleon, as it is less well known and no less interesting.
I started out by picking out some key scenes in her life that told the basic story of events, then sketched them out and picked out background and foreground characters that I’d like to pull forward in the scenes. The first scene, with Josephine and her parents, was easy enough to decide on, pulling the main characters forward and hiding her estranged sister far into the background (born of an affair that her father had with one of the families slaves), hiding her from view, much as the family had done.
From there I chose to show the moment that she got off the ship to first be greeted by the disproving Alexandre (whom took an immediate dislike to her), putting the suite cases in shot, one of which contained her childhood keepsake toys (an obvious sign that Josephine was in no way mature enough to be sent off to be married, least of all so far from home.)
My favorite scene so far however, is the one in which Josephine stands back from the window looking out at Paris from afar, the scene was designed to show how isolated Josephine was during her first year of being in Paris, Alexandre forbid her from leaving their home, in fear of her unfashionable colonial roots destroying his reputation amongst the Parisian socialites.
The act of practicing my scenes like this has really help to solidify my ideas and cement the style of book that I would like to use in my final piece, it made me see how impractical the concertina book would be in creating the kind of product that I wanted to produce. This style of book will also be much easier to make and work with. In addition it allows me to build my my 3D element in 3 layers pre scene with out having to use many full pages, with makes the piece much easier and quicker to make; which is great as I am balancing the time that I spend on my uni work with both my job and my friends over this summer and do not want to rush my work and sacrifice the quality in the interest of time.

Leave a Reply

