Collection Ideas and Zine

Working from Philip – my alpaca key ring – my collection will grow to include all the items that I typically interact with in day to day life, on a day when I’m feeling anxious and or down, and how emotions can be projected onto them through the use of colour and a stream of consciousness like narrative – which will consist of thoughts, lyrics and general phrases and snippets of other peoples conversations that I catch.
The zine that I presented to the group was quite a rough and basic view of what the book might include, but within the Zine I did try to incorporate a good use of colour; and particularly on the first page, how I would like to include the text into my images and how this composition might reflect the stream of consciousness that it is supposed to represent.


The zine is done in a very simple way, with a basic zine layout, using the 3 double page spreads that this creates. By limiting my space and creating large and bold images within the larger pages, I do much more detail and use many of the materials to more effect than if I’d used each page individually. The images themselves followed a very basic narrative, that followed me from my bedroom in my student flat (featuring some important objects in my room, as well as a wall of text and an emotional pallet), to walking along the street outside with the things that I typically carry in my pockets where ever I’m going and also the things that might be in my subconscious as I go and finally finishing with the coffee that I’m most likely heading for. With in the zine I’ve looked most prominently at the use of colour, text and a layered 3d aspect with different papers.
However, looking at other students zines, I’d noticed that people had used the full zine much more effectively. One of the key things that I have noted that I could do with the zine format, is the aspect of using all the available space in the zine: front, back and inside, creating an image that you can open out on both sides. This can create a zine with a much more effective flowing narrative and a flip side that can relate and reflect to the other side of the zine.


At the moment I’m considering creating a concertina book that uses both sides of the fold to maximise the use of colour and also maybe add more of a coherent narrative to the work. Though in light of the tutorial and looking at how much potential the zine format has, I will consider continuing with this style of book a little longer.

Leave a Reply

