Figurative Modeling: life modeling class and Cardiff gallery visit

Our first week of field started started on Tuesday 18th Oct, we began the morning with a brief introduction to the course and life drawing. Figurative modeling is fairly self explanatory, the course looks primarily at clay and ceramic and how it can be used to show the human form, with it’s weight and movement.
When we started with the life drawing using only charcoal, we were told to look closely at the movement and how the body leaned and holds it’s weight.for the first set of drawings, we had only 10 seconds to do each one and capture the basic movement and weight. this was a really fun exercise, as it made me look over closely at the model and really think about how the movement of my hand effected the drawing. Only using charcoal sticks tto draw with makes you really think about your drawing style and how you use the charcoal on the page, light and gestural movements can look very different to heavier and quick movements; the difference in movement changes the mark quite a lot when you use charcoal, as it responds really well to pressure. Once we had done about 12 of the very short drawings, we moved on to do longer 2-3 minute drawings. This had a similar effect to that of the 10 second drawings, but allowed me to consider my drawings a bit more and to go a little slower when looking at how the pose the model had adopted; these drawings could be less gestural and more solid, while still looking at the weight distribution of the model, once we’d done about 5 of these drawings, we moved on to longer poses.We extended these poses from 10 to 30 minutes, every time expanding the focus on the pose and the way that the model held herself.
Overall, I feel that the best drawings that I did, were the more gestural and brief 10 second to 3 minute drawings. The way that the time limit restricted me and maybe me think less about the actual drawing and more about how I was showing the movement and the models pose, was really beneficial to my drawings and gave them a lot of movement and weight. Though I enjoy taking more time over the longer and more detailed drawings, after spending so long doing the collection of smaller and more expressive drawings, I felt that I struggled to properly time myself and pace the drawing to make the most of the time given; therefore I think that the work that I produced was defiantly not the best that I could have done, nor was it as good as the first two sets of drawing.

In the afternoon, we met as a group at the ‘Craft in the Bea’ center down at Cardiff bay, we had to make our own way there and I was a little late, and so missed the first few minutes of the activity that we did in the conference room upstairs. This was an inconvenience, but I did use the time to look around the exhibition a bit before I realized that everyone had actually arrived, I was just not in the right place.
Upstairs in the work shop we looked at modeling with paper and had to make spoons. This was a bit rushed on my and my partners part, but we got it done while listening to the other groups spoke about their designs. we were looking at the different elements of design and where they come from; material, tool and environment. within this we looked also at how we transfer skills, pre-design our ideas and develop ideas from the outcome (iterative).
We then went to look at the exhibition, looking specifically at how ceramic and gesture was used in each of the pieces, as well as talking about each artists practice. Some of the artists that we saw at the exhibit, Christie Brown ect, will be coming to speak to us as part of a symposium.

Leave a Reply

