Book Cover: ‘Redemption’, Jeremy Geddes.

The cover of Simon Armitage’s most resent poetry anthology, features an oil painting by Jeremy Geddes, ‘Redemption’. I was immediately drawn to this beautiful book the moment that I saw it, it perfectly reflects the gentle disembodied and conceptual moments that the poems in this anthology, the serenity of the image and the peaceful silence that it communicates is perfect for the tone and pallet in these works.
It was, in fact, this illustration that gave me the idea to design an anthology cover, as I felt that it represented a form of illustrative communication that I really want to pursue in my work. However, I did not want to replicate or copy the style and substance of this piece, therefore using this book as my focus was not something that I wanted to do. It is not the media or the method that I found most effective in this piece, while they are defiantly important features, the imagery and the conceptual symbolism of the painting when applied in the context of the cover, was what truly drew my interest and inspired me to do a similar brief.
Much like with editorial work, I feel that the main focus of creating a successful cover, is to create a piece that reflects the tone and mood of the text it represents; it’s about finding a specific feeling or moment that truly reflects the experience that the author wishes to communicate to their audience.

About the Artists:

Jeremy Geddes studied painting at the Victorian College of the Arts and began working full time as a painter in 2003.  He’s most well known for his paintings of cosmonauts and people floating, story falling, colliding and drifting in empty landscapes.
Jeremy was born in Wellington, New Zealand, and now lives in Melbourne, Australia with his wife and whippet.
Born
1974, Wellington, New Zealand.
http://www.jeremygeddesart.com/

Leave a Reply

