Subject Reflection:

This year subject has been really focused in my creative process, and in producing a high quality product with an emphasis on professionalism. The first project that we were set, collections, was pretty much the hardest project for me for the whole year; this was due only in part to the fact that during first term we had all three (Subject, Constellation and Field) modules running simultaneously. This first project was so difficult due mostly to how my creative process works and how I’ve learned, over the course of this year, it is best managed. Doing one project for a full term is not something that works well for me, the fickle nature of my creativity fairs much better with shorter and more intense projects. Working on a project for too long leads to me second guessing myself frequently and ultimately becoming disillusioned with all the work that I then produce. Therefore, while I was ultimately pleased with the end result of my much longer book project (which was not in fact technically full completely til late into the third term) the editorial briefs that we focused on in the second term were much better for me and suited my practise much more. Practising editorial style illustration, with all of the time constraints and tight demands that it invokes, really opened my eyes to the ways that I could improve my practice.
Working in roughs and development, allowed me to look further into the importance of colour, and simple and abstract imagery in my work. When working to produce a single image that communicates an entire article, news story or opinion piece, these choices become very important to how the illustration talks to and engages its audience. Editorial work really made me look at my work in a different way and forced me to face the problems head on, it was through doing this that I really got to grips with how to get the most out of myself creatively. In addition it lead to new found confidence in my abilities with programmes like Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator, which in turn lead to me taking my skill set in a whole new direction by introducing me to both Gif animation and digital drawing.
While this year has been a hard one, when it came to compiling all of my work, I really got to appreciate the amount and quality of what I have produced this year. Seeing everything come together on my desk and picking work to go into the end of year exhibition, made me truly appreciate how hard I have worked this year and how much I feel that has paid off. The emphasis on professionalism this year as really upped the final outcomes in all of my projects and I feel that I have gained a lot over the course of this year, in terms of confidence and skills, when it comes to my practise. When it’s all said and done, while I hope to get a strong grade from this year, I’m happy with what I have produced regardless.

Leave a Reply

